8 Benefits of Returning to the Office (From Someone Who Would Rather WFH Forever)

Avina Nakai
4 min readNov 10, 2021
Photo by Grovemade on Unsplash

I was fully remote for a year and seven months, and it was glorious. As an introvert, I loved the privacy and comfort of working from my safe space. I grew more confident as time went along and even got promoted from my dining room table. So when the company announced RTO, I dreaded being forced back into the office two days a week; however, there are some upsides.

None of these upsides include “increased productivity,” “better sense of community,” or any of other B.S buzz words executives use to mean “we paid for this building and we hate being home with our families, so we’re all going back to the office.”

I can test drive outfits.

Sometimes I see an article of clothing that is really cute in the store, run home, pose in my mirror, rip the tags off and plan an outfit to wear with it immediately. However, I hate when, later on, I wear the article of clothing out and realize it’s too tight to wear with my favorite sweater, the lack of buttons is irritating, or while no pockets, in theory, is manageable, it’s infuriating in real life. So, putting on an actual outfit and going into work allows me to test drive certain outfit combinations and clothing items to see if they’re hit or miss.

I can steal snacks to…

--

--